Monday, April 22, 2013

Eagles Win Fred Page Cup

Adam Tambellini scored in double overtime to lift the Surrey Eagles to their fourth Fred Page Cup as the Birds defeated the Penticton Vees 3-2 in Game 6 to win the best-of-seven BCHL Championship series.

The Eagles came out flying in the first and were rewarded for their efforts early as Brett Mulcahy netted his second of the playoffs, knocking the rebound of a Michael Stenerson shot past Chad Katunar less than two minutes into the game. Surrey had some good pressure throughout the period and nearly scored again when Nic Pierog hit the post from the left circle, and Kevan Kilistoff found the iron with the rebound as well.

Both teams had opportunities to score in the second period but were unable to find the back of the net. Demico Hannoun nearly extended the Surrey lead when his shot hit the goal post early in the frame while Penticton forward John Siemer wired a backhander off the cross-bar from close range off the rebound of a James de Haas point shot.

The Vees found a tying goal in the third when Troy Stecher made a nice deke down the left wing to find some room below the Surrey goal line before passing to Louie Nanne in the high slot, and Nanne ripped a wrister past Michael Santaguida to even the score. The Birds retook the lead a few minutes later on the power play as Brady Shaw chipped a rebound over Katunar into the Penticton net, but the Vees equalized again in the final minute of the frame as Siemer tipped a Sam Mellor point shot into the goal to send the game to overtime.

The first overtime period was full of frantic action and numerous chances for both sides, but Katunar and Santaguida battled in their respective nets and kept everything out. Shaw had a good backhand chance in front of the net for Surrey that was turned aside by the Penticton keeper while Santaguida robbed Sam Mellor with a fantastic blocker save at the other end of the ice moments later.

The Eagles finally found a winning goal in the second overtime period when Tambellini fired a one-timer past Katunar after a nice pass from behind the net by Demico Hannoun, and the Birds celebrated as Fred Page Cup Champions.

Surrey will now advance to the Western Canada Cup which begins on Saturday, April 27 in Nanaimo.

Pro4 Sports 3 Stars:
1. Adam Tambellini - Surrey
2. Michael Santaguida - Surrey
3. John Siemer - Surrey

My 3 Stars:
1. Brett Mulcahy - Surrey
2. Michael Santaguida - Surrey
3. John Siemer - Penticton

Highlights (below) courtesy of the Penticton Vees and the South Okanagan Events Centre.

No comments:

Post a Comment